Remove all information about a job and erase media

This is for the remaining stuff.

Moderator: sepma

Post Reply
wfellows
Posts: 5
Joined: June 14th, 2011, 12:18 pm
Spam Stop: No
SEP sesam: Software

Remove all information about a job and erase media

Post by wfellows » October 14th, 2013, 3:17 pm

Hi,

I have some files that have been backed up for a particular project. At the end of this project I'm required to delete all the data that has been stored and destroy the backups that have been taken. Is there anything that needs to be done to remove details of the files that hve been backed up in the databse other than than deleting the job and it's schedule?

Also is there anyway to erase the tape so the backed up data is gone so these tapes can be shown to be cleared and then re-entered into the spare pool for my other backup jobs?

Thanks,

Will

cliogp
Posts: 37
Joined: January 18th, 2006, 6:51 pm
Location: Waakirchen
Contact:

Re: Remove all information about a job and erase media

Post by cliogp » October 17th, 2013, 3:29 pm

Hi Will,

set the EOL (End of Live) of the savesets (DataStore) or of the tapes (properties of the tape) in the past.

Next purge the savesets and the metadata to the savesets will be deleted ( DataStore).

Next time a tape media of the media pool will be requested, then "oldest" EOL free media will be used (the tape will be initialized) and the saveset on the media will be overwritten. All metadata will be deleted.

Another way is, to initialize the tape media "by hand".

Clio

Post Reply